Glover Texeira Becomes Light-Heavyweight Champion At 42-Years Old, 2nd-Oldest UFC Champ In History

An exciting night of fights was capped off by a historic win from Glover Teixeira as he becomes the 2nd-oldest UFC champion in history.

An RNC got him the title, but it was an early takedown that gave him the momentum in Round 1. Teixeira ended up in Blachowicz’s closed guard, and Teixeira used a nasty Can Opener while inside of the closed guard, taking breaks to pepper away with some ground and pound for the entirety of the round. Blachowicz, who has been training his jiu-jitsu with Braulio Estima, clearly didn’t enjoy being on his back, as he hasn’t been taken down in the UFC since 2016.

In round-2, Teixeira secured another takedown, then passed to the mount and took Blachowicz’s back. From there, he flattened Jan out and finished him by way of RNC.

He reflected on his long career after the fight, “20 years, baby. I have no words to describe… I’m breaking the rules at 42-years old, and I’m going to keep breaking the rules.”

Petr Yan and Cory Sandhagen went the full 5-round distance in their bout for the Interim Bantamweight Title fight. Yan got his title back, and will now have a rematch against Aljamain Sterling is about to unify the Bantamweight titles. Their rematch comes after Yan lost their last fight by DQ due to an illegal knee from Yan while Sterling had a knee on the ground.

Also in the main event, Islam Makhachev nearly broke Dan Hooker’s arm with a Kimura in his first-round victory. Shortly before that, Khamzat Chimaev made a splash as he gave a mid-fight speech during his RNC win over Li Jingliang, which led to Jingliang going to sleep.


Glover Teixeira def. Jan Blachowicz via Submission (RNC)

Petr Yan def. Cory Sandhagen via Unanimous Decision

Islam Makhachev def. Dan Hooker via Submission (Kimura)

Alexander Volkov def. Marcin Tybura via Unanimous Decision

Khamzat Chimaev def. Li Jingliang via Submission (RNC)

Magomed Ankalaev def. Volkan Oezdemir via Unanimous Decison


Amanda Ribas def. Virna Jandiroba via Unanimous Decision

Zubaira Tukhugov def. Ricardo Ramos via Unanimous Decision

Albert Duraev def. Roman Kopylov via Unanimous Decision

Elizeu Zaleski dos Santos def. Benoît St. Denis via Unanimous Decision (ref removed)

Michał Oleksiejczuk def. Shamil Gamzatov via TKO

Lerone Murphy def. Makwan Amirkhani via KO

Andre Petroski def. Hu Yaozong via submission (Arm Triangle)

Tagir Ulanbekov def. Allan Nascimento via Split Decision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here