Conor McGregor and Holly Holm Win At The ESPY Awards

Once again, an MMA fighter is coming home with an ESPY award.

In fact, this year, two MMA fighters had the honor: UFC Featherweight Champion Conor McGregor and former Women’s Bantamweight Champion Holly Holm.

McGregor was named Fighter of the Year. This should come as no surprise, as Conor has easily been the biggest draw in the UFC for some time now.

Also coming as no surprise, Holm was given the upset of the year award for her brutal, one-sided knock-out win over Ronda Rousey – a woman who was up until then thought to be invincible in the bantamweight division.

Interestingly enough, Rousey earned an award at last year’s ESPY’s.

The ESPY Award – otherwise known as the Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award – is an annual ceremony meant to honor excellence in team and individual sports.  Since 2002, it has been held in July.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here